Skip to main content

Nominations open for 2022 Galway City Council Mayor's Awards

News & Events

Nominations open for 2022 Galway City Council Mayor’s Awards

By 2nd March 2023No Comments

The annual Galway City Council Mayor’s Awards were launched on Thursday, February 23 last and are now open for nominations.

The Mayor’s Awards are the most prestigious annual awards that recognise those who make a significant contribution to Galway City.

These awards are an annual opportunity to celebrate inspirational local people and groups who go above and beyond to support their community.

On this, the 20th year of the awards, Galway City Council would like all volunteers to know that their contribution is very much appreciated and that volunteering is celebrated for its inherent value to our society, helping to develop vibrant, inclusive and sustainable communities.

Galway City Council invites nominations for individuals or groups who are involved in voluntary activity taking place in the city in one of the following categories:

  • Arts, Culture, Heritage and Cúrsaí Gaeilge Award
  • Neighbourhood/Community Champion Award
  • Community Service and Social Inclusion Award
  • Older Person Volunteer of the Year Award
  • Environmental Sustainability Award
  • Sports Volunteer of the Year Award
  • Children and Youth Support Award
  • Young Volunteer of the Year Award
  • The Galway City Council Volunteer of the Year Award

If you would like to nominate an individual or group for any of these award categories, you can complete an online nomination form at Nomination forms are also available from City Hall and the City Libraries.

The closing date for nominations is Friday, 24th March at 4pm.

Each of the award winners will receive a commemorative gift and a payment of €500.

All nominees will be presented with an individually designed Mayoral Certificate at the Awards Ceremony which will be held on Wednesday 24th May 2023 in the Galway Bay Hotel, Salthill, Galway.

For further queries on the Mayor’s Awards please email Liam Kitterick / Emma Johnston on  or telephone 091 538 808 / 091 536 358.

For more information on the awards click HERE.

Find information on community support services in Galway, Rosommon and Mayo HERE.
Share this: